Mobil Pegasus™ 1005 reduces oil consumption

Lubricant oil consumption

Waukesha 7042 GSI and Caterpillar 3516 T/A Natural Gas Engines

Oil and Natural Gas Company

Chubut, Argentina

Situation

An Argentinian oil and natural gas exploration company operates a fleet of 44 Waukesha 7042 GSI and Caterpillar 3516 T/A natural gas engines. When lubricating with the previous gas engine oil, maintenance personnel achieved 1,500-hour oil drain intervals, requiring them to perform almost six engine services per year. The company approached Mobil to determine a more efficient lubricant solution, capable of reducing oil consumption, extending oil drain intervals and reducing labor-related costs.

Recommendation

After conducting an oil performance test, Mobil engineers recommended transitioning to Mobil Pegasus™ 1005, a gas engine oil formulated with premium base stocks and advanced additive technology to deliver the highest level of protection for some of the most demanding applications.

Result

After transitioning both engine models to Mobil Pegasus 1005 gas engine oil, the company successfully extended oil drain intervals to 7,000 hours, more than tripling the intervals achieved by the previous lubricant. Facility managers also reported a 30 percent reduction in oil consumption. Through reducing oil consumption, conserving equipment resources and cutting labor-related costs, use of Mobil Pegasus 1005 oil helped save an estimated

US $190,000 annually.

The product performance of Mobil Pegasus 1005, alongside the application expertise provided by local Mobil engineering support, is helping to improve customer productivity potential.

*This success story is based on the experience of a single customer. Actual results can vary depending upon the type of equipment used and its maintenance, operating conditions and environment, and any prior lubricant used.

*ExxonMobil shall include Exxon Mobil alliance partners.

249 kb PDF in English

2/24/2016

Success stories

Download Talk to an expert Send to a colleague Find a distributor


  • Natural gas compressor

    Natural gas engines

    The right industrial lubricants can improve natural gas engine reliability and performance. Learn how Mobil™ industrial lubricants are helping the natural gas engine industry achieve higher levels of productivity.

    Learn more
  • Mobil Pegasus 1005 helps gas compression plant

    Mobil Pegasus™ 1005 helps gas compression plant

    Mobil Pegasus™ 1005 helps gas compression plant double oil drain intervals in fleet of CAT 3612 engines, generating significant annual savings.

    Learn more
Loading

Mobil Pegasus™ 1005 réduit la consommation d’huile

Consommation d’huile de lubrification

Moteurs à gaz naturel Waukesha 7042 GSI et Caterpillar 3516 T/A

Société pétrolière et gazière

Chubut, Argentine

Situation

Une société d’exploration pétrolière et gazière argentine utilise une flotte de 44 moteurs à gaz naturel Waukesha 7042 GSI et Caterpillar 3516 T/A. Avec l’huile pour moteurs à gaz précédente, le personnel de maintenance obtenait des intervalles de vidange d’huile de 1 500 heures, ce qui leur demandait d’effectuer presque six interventions sur les moteurs chaque année. La société a fait appel à ExxonMobil pour mettre au point une solution de lubrification plus efficace, capable de réduire la consommation d’huile, d’allonger les intervalles de vidange de l’huile et de réduire les coûts liés à la main-d’œuvre.

Recommandation

Après un test des performances de l’huile, les ingénieurs d’ExxonMobil ont recommandé le passage à Mobil Pegasus™ 1005, une huile pour moteurs à gaz formulée avec des huiles de base de qualité supérieure mélangées avec des additifs à technologie avancée afin d’offrir le plus haut niveau de protection pour plusieurs des applications les plus exigeantes.

Résultat

Après avoir passé les deux modèles de moteurs à l’huile pour moteurs à gaz Mobil Pegasus 1005, la société a pu allonger les intervalles de vidange de l’huile jusqu’à 7 000 heures, c’est-à-dire, des intervalles plus de trois fois plus longs que ceux obtenus avec le lubrifiant précédent. Les responsables des installations ont également indiqué une réduction de 30 % de la consommation d’huile. Grâce à la réduction de la consommation d’huile, la conservation des ressources d’équipement et la réduction des coûts liés à la main-d’œuvre, l’utilisation de l’huile Mobil Pegasus 1005 a permis d’économiser 190 000 $ US par an.

Les performances de l’huile Mobil Pegasus 1005 associées à l’expertise technique des spécialistes ExxonMobil locaux permettent d’augmenter le potentiel de productivité du client.

*Cette histoire de la réussite est basée sur le témoignage d’un seul client. Les résultats réels peuvent varier en fonction du type d’équipement utilisé et de sa maintenance, ses conditions de fonctionnement et son environnement, ainsi que du lubrifiant précédemment utilisé.

* ExxonMobil représente les partenaires de l’alliance Exxon Mobil.

249 kb PDF en anglais

2016-02-24

Histoires de réussites

Télécharger Parler à un expert Envoyer à un(e) collègue Trouver un distributeur


  • Compresseur au gaz naturel

    Moteurs au gaz naturel

    Utiliser les bons lubrifiants industriels peut améliorer la fiabilité et les performances des moteurs au gaz naturel. Apprenez comment les lubrifiants industriels Mobil™ aident l’industrie des moteurs au gaz naturel à atteindre de plus hauts niveaux de productivité.

    Pour en savoir plus
  • Mobil Pegasus 1005 améliore la rentabilité des stations de compression de gaz

    Mobil Pegasus™ 1005 améliore la rentabilité des stations de compression de gaz

    Mobil Pegasus 1005 permet aux stations de compression de gaz de doubler les intervalles de vidange de leur flotte de moteurs CAT 3612, ce qui leur permet de faire une économie annuelle significative.

    Pour en savoir plus
Loading