Open gear yellow oil high viscosity

Benefits of high viscosity open gear lubricants

02-29-2016

Expert answers

What are the benefits of high viscosity open gear lubricants such as Mobil SHC™ Gear 22M/46M over those open gear lubes containing graphite additive?

Mobil SHC™ Gear 22M/46M are zinc and lead-free synthetic oils that are environmentally friendly compared with conventional solvent-based asphaltic open gear lubricants. The high viscosity of Mobil SHC Gear 22M/46M oils makes them effective for high load conditions and boundary lubrication regimes. There is no solvent added to 22M/46M, so they provide stable viscosity and film thickness to protect the gear.

The Mobiltac™ series of open gear lubricants contains solvents to help them flow at room temperature, but the viscosity increases with the evaporation of the solvents. The viscosity can vary based on the time in use.

Another advantage of Mobil SHC Gear 22M/46M lubricants is that they are transparent, which facilitates gear inspection. Typically open gear lubricants, such as Mobiltac and Mobilgear OGL, are not transparent; so cleaning of the gear before routine gear inspections is required.

A final consideration: The selection of open gear lubricants should be based on the working condition as well as the application method. Spray, splash, brush or circulation – different methods determine the exact lubricant to use in the field.


  • Lubricant oil pour

    High viscosity index oils can help improve productivity

    When selecting a lubricant, a key consideration is viscosity. It can impact lubricant life expectancy, equipment wear rate, energy consumption and fluidity.

    Learn more
  • Industrial bull gear

    Industrial lubricants

    Every Mobil™ industrial lubricant is specially formulated to provide maximum protection and extend equipment life.

    Learn more

Huile jaune pour engrenages nus haute viscosité

Avantages des lubrifiants pour engrenages nus à haute viscosité

2016-02-29

Réponses d'experts

Quels sont les avantages des lubrifiants pour engrenages nus à haute viscosité, tels que Mobil SHC™ SHC 22M/46M, par rapport aux lubrifiants pour engrenages nus contenant de l’additif au graphite ?

Les lubrifiants Mobilgear SHC™ 22M/46M sont des huiles synthétiques sans zinc et sans plomb qui sont respectueuses de l’environnement par rapport aux lubrifiants pour engrenages nus asphaltiques à base de solvant traditionnels. La haute viscosité des huiles Mobilgear SHC™ 22M/46M les rend efficaces pour des conditions avec de lourdes charges et des régimes de lubrification limites. Aucun solvant n’est ajouté aux huiles 22M/46M, donc elles démontrent une viscosité stable et une épaisseur de film appropriée pour protéger les engrenages.

La gamme Mobiltac™ de lubrifiants pour engrenages nus contient des solvants pour les aider à circuler à température ambiante, mais la viscosité augmente avec l’évaporation des solvants. La viscosité peut varier en fonction de la durée d’utilisation.

Un autre avantage des lubrifiants Mobilgear SHC™ 22M/46Mest qu’ils sont transparents et facilitent donc l’inspection des engrenages. Les deux gammes Mobiltac et Mobilgear SHC™ OGL ne sont pas transparentes. Elles requièrent donc un nettoyage des engrenages avant des inspections de routine des engrenages.

Une dernière chose à prendre en considération : La sélection de lubrifiants pour engrenages doit être basée sur les conditions de fonctionnement, ainsi que la méthode d’application. Vaporisation, barbotage, brossage ou circulation : autant de méthodes différentes permettant de déterminer le lubrifiant exact à utiliser dans le domaine concerné..

  • Huile jaune pour engrenages nus haute viscosité

    Avantages des lubrifiants pour engrenages nus à haute viscosité

    Découvrez les avantages des lubrifiants pour engrenages nus à haute viscosité par rapport à ceux des lubrifiants traditionnels pour engrenages nus.

    Pour en savoir plus
  • Roue principale industrielle

    Lubrifiants industriels

    Trouvez des informations sur les huiles et graisses industrielles Mobil™ conçues pour satisfaire les besoins de performances exigeants de votre secteur.

    Pour en savoir plus