Mobil Pegasus™ 805 helps extend engine life

Mobil Pegasus 805 helps extend engine life

Caterpillar 3512 and 3516 Lean Burn Engines XTO Energy, Inc.

Ringwood, Oklahoma, United States

Situation

XTO Energy is operating two Caterpillar 3512 and three Caterpillar 3516 engines at its Ringwood, Oklahoma facility. XTO’s maintenance team wanted to extend the time between the OEM-recommended overhaul intervals of 40,000 to 60,000 hours.

Recommendation

Mobil engineers recommended that XTO utilize Mobil Pegasus™ 805 gas engine oil in its five Caterpillar™ engines, as well as monitor the condition of the in-service lubricant and engine components through use of Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis.

Result

Use of Mobil Pegasus™ 805 oil, supported with Mobil Serv Lubricant Analysis, helped XTO achieve an average of more than 118,000 in-service hours on each of its five engines, safely doubling the engines’ overhaul intervals recommended by the OEM.

In addition to the extended oil service life, it is also significant that the engines’ crankshafts, camshafts, rocker shafts, cam followers and rocker bushings required only polishing prior to going back into service. These components typically experience high wear during operation and require grinding before being put back into service. However, no grinding was needed. Additionally, the engines’ auxiliary gears were able to be reused.

Collectively, the extended engine life and minimized maintenance costs helped XTO save US $585,000 in total engine overhaul costs.

The product performance of Mobil Pegasus 805, alongside the application expertise provided by local Mobil engineering support, once again helped to improve customer productivity.

*This success story is based on the experience of a single customer. Actual results can vary depending upon the type of equipment used and its maintenance, operating conditions and environment, and any prior lubricant used.

245 kb PDF in English

02-24-2016

Success stories

  • Mobil Pegasus 805 extends compressor life

    Mobil Pegasus™ 805 helps extend compressor life

    Devon Gas Services uses Mobil Pegasus™ 805 to extend compressor life and improve productivity.

    Learn more
  • Engineers working on turbine

    Technical services

    Explore technical services from our Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis program to plant studies that can help your organization improve performance and productivity.

    Learn more

Mobil Pegasus™ 805 permet d’allonger la durée de vie des moteurs

Mobil Pegasus 805 permet d’allonger la durée de vie des moteurs

Moteurs à mélange pauvre Caterpillar 3512 et 3516 de XTO Energy, Inc.

Ringwood, Oklahoma, États-Unis

Situation

XTO Energy utilise deux moteurs Caterpillar 3512 et trois moteurs Caterpillar 3516 dans ses installations de Ringwood, Oklahoma. L’équipe d'entretien de XTO souhaitait faire passer la durée entre les intervalles de révision recommandée par l’équipementier de 40 000 à 60 000 heures.

Recommandation

Les ingénieurs d’ExxonMobil ont recommandé à XTO d’utiliser l’huile pour moteurs à gaz Mobil Pegasus™ 805 dans ses cinq moteurs Caterpillar™ et de surveiller l’état du lubrifiant utilisé et des composants du moteur avec le programme Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis.

Résultat

L’utilisation de l’huile Mobil Pegasus 805 et le programmeMobil Serv Lubricant Analysis. ont permis à XTO d’atteindre en moyenne plus de 118 000 heures de service de chacun de ses cinq moteurs, doublant ainsi en toute sécurité les intervalles de révision des moteurs recommandés par l’équipementier.

Outre l’allongement de la durée de vie de service de l’huile, il convient également de remarquer que les vilebrequins, les arbres à cames, les axes de culbuteurs, les galets suiveurs et les chemises de protection des culbuteurs des différents moteurs ont juste requis un polissage avant d’être remis en service. En général, ces composants sont soumis à une forte usure au cours du fonctionnement et requièrent une rectification avant de reprendre le service. Cependant, aucune rectification n’a été requise. En outre, les engrenages auxiliaires du moteur ont pu être réutilisés.

En tout, l’allongement de la durée de vie des moteurs et la réduction des coûts de maintenance ont permis à XTO d’économiser 585 000 $ US en matière de coûts de révision des moteurs.

Les performances de l’huile Mobil Pegasus 805, associées à l’expertise technique des spécialistes ExxonMobil locaux, ont permis une fois de plus d’augmenter la productivité du client.

*Cette histoire de la réussite est basée sur le témoignage d’un seul client. Les résultats réels peuvent varier en fonction du type d’équipement utilisé et de sa maintenance, ses conditions de fonctionnement et son environnement, ainsi que du lubrifiant précédemment utilisé.







245 kb PDF en anglais

2016-02-24

Histoires de réussites

  • Mobil Pegasus 805 permet d’allonger la durée de vie des compresseurs

    Mobil Pegasus™ 805 permet d’allonger la durée de vie des compresseurs

    Devon Gas Services utilise Mobil Pegasus™ 805 pour allonger la durée de vie de ses compresseurs et améliorer sa productivité.

    Pour en savoir plus
  • engineers working on turbine

    Services techniques

    Explorez les services techniques de notre programme Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis pour les études d’usines, qui peuvent aider votre organisation à améliorer ses performances et sa productivité.

    Pour en savoir plus