Mobil Vacuoline™ 525 circulating oil success story

Zero bearing corrosion

Rolling mill circulating oil lubrication

Situation

Mobil Vacuoline™ 525 circulating oil was originally used in circulation lubrication systems for oil-film bearings of finishing blocks at the SKET 150 mill. In 2002, the customer decided to switch to a competitor’s ISO VG 100 ashless oil, declared by a supplier as the suitable choice for oil-film bearings application. However, the competitive oil demonstrated poor water separation, emulsion formation and uncontrolled contamination, which all resulted in an increase of bearing failures.

Recommendation

To improve bearing life and rolling mill performance through enhanced lubrication efficiency, a switch back to Mobil Vacuoline 525 circulating oil was recommended. The decision was driven by practical experience and references, proven excellent water separation and outstanding antiwear properties.

Result

After changing back to Mobil Vacuoline 525 circulating oil, the customer observed the oil’s noticeable ability to fully and rapidly separate a high amount of water (up to 10 percent).

Their calculated annual benefits, obtained within an application period of two years were:

  • Energy savings (due to less use of centrifuge separators, two units) of around 260,000 kW or an equivalent of US $10,200
  • Reduced bearing replacement, providing a maintenance cost reduction of US $47,500
  • Productivity gain of 48 hours per year

*This success story is based on the experience of a single customer. Actual results can vary depending upon the type of equipment used and its maintenance, operating conditions and environment, and any prior lubricant used. ExxonMobil shall include Exxon Mobil Corporation and its affiliates.

189 kb PDF in English

02-23-2016

Success stories

  • Mobil Vacuoline™ 525 circulating oil success story

    Mobil Vacuoline™ 525 circulating oil, with its proven water separability, is providing one customer $10,200 per year in energy savings.

  • Our Purpose – Advancing Productivity

    Advancing Productivity is our commitment to business sustainability solutions built from high-performance products, lubrication services and industry expertise to help deliver operational safety, reduce environmental impact and improve productivity.

    Learn more

Histoire de la réussite de l’huile de circulation Mobil Vacuoline™ 525

Zéro corrosion des roulements

Lubrification à l’huile circulante pour usine de laminage

Situation

L’huile de circulation Mobil Vacuoline™ 525 était initialement utilisée dans les systèmes de lubrification par circulation pour les roulements avec film d’huile, sur les blocs de fin dans l’usine SKET 150. En 2002, le client a décidé de passer à l’huile sans cendres ISO VG 100 d’un concurrent, déclarée par un fournisseur comme le choix approprié pour une application impliquant des roulements avec film d’huile. Cependant, l’huile du concurrent a démontré de mauvaises performances de séparation de l’eau, la formation d’une émulsion et une contamination incontrôlée, ce qui a entraîné une hausse des défaillances de roulements.

Recommandation

La solution recommandée pour améliorer la durée de vie des roulements et les performances du laminoir via l’optimisation de l’efficacité de lubrification a été de revenir à l’huile de circulation Mobil Vacuoline 525. Cette recommandation a été appuyée par une expérience de pratique et des références, une excellente séparation de l’eau et d’incroyables propriétés d’anti-usure.

Résultat

Après le passage à l’huile de circulation Mobil Vacuoline 525, le client a observé la capacité visible de l’huile à séparer entièrement et rapidement un grand volume d’eau (jusqu’à 10 %).

Les bénéfices annuels calculés, obtenus sur une période d’application de deux ans, ont été les suivants :

  • Économies d’énergie (dues à une utilisation moindre de séparateurs centrifuges, deux unités) d’environ 260 000 kW, soit 10 200 $ US
  • Réduction des intervalles de remplacement des roulements, baisse des coûts de maintenance de 47 500 $ US
  • Gains de productivité de 48 heures par an

*Cette histoire de la réussite est basée sur le témoignage d’un seul client. Les résultats réels peuvent varier selon le type d’équipement utilisé, ses conditions de maintenance et d’utilisation, son environnement, ainsi que le lubrifiant précédemment utilisé. ExxonMobil représente Exxon Mobil Corporation et ses sociétés affiliées.



2016-02-22

Histoires de réussites

  • engineers working on turbine

    Services techniques

    Explorez les services techniques de notre programme Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis pour les études d’usines, qui peuvent aider votre organisation à améliorer ses performances et sa productivité.

    Pour en savoir plus