Mobilgrease XHP 461™ steel rolling mill success story

Ball bearing in blue grease

Situation

A steel rolling mill in Russia experienced significant water washout of a non-Mobil™ grease from the roller bearing cages of the work rolls. Coking occurred as an effect of reduced grease and high temperature exposure. Deposit formation resulted in water corrosion that attacked the bearings due to a lack of protection by the grease.

Recommendation

Mobil Field Engineers recommended Mobilgrease XHP 461™ grease for its superb resistance to water washout, excellent rust and corrosion resistance, and very good thermal stability. A set of bearings was selected for a six-month trial, during which both the bearings and grease performance would be monitored.

Result

During the trial, Mobilgrease XHP 461 water resistant grease provided superior performance and after six months of use in the roller bearings, the following benefits were documented:

  • The grease resisted significant amounts of water and demonstrated excellent adhesive capabilities
  • Provided bearing protection and lubrication, preventing any lubricant-related failures
  • Less replenishment was required, decreasing overall grease consumption
  • No bearing corrosion and no deposits were detected
  • No grease coking was observed

Consequently, the customer decided to gradually fill the rest of the bearings in the mill with Mobilgrease XHP 461 grease.

*This success story is based on the experience of a single customer. Actual results can vary depending upon the type of equipment used and its maintenance, operating conditions and environment, and any prior lubricant used.

02-23-2016

  • Mobilgrease XHP™ 460 Series

    If your applications run under demanding operating conditions like high temperatures and extended relubrication, Mobilgrease XHP™ 460 Series greases can help achieve top performance.

    Learn more
  • Metal manufacturing

    Mobil™ industrial lubricants are designed to increase equipment efficiency while also improving oil drain intervals and equipment life. We have the field expertise and proven products to help your plant solve its toughest challenges.

    Learn more

L’histoire de la réussite de l’usine de laminage avec la graisse Mobilgrease XHP 461™

Zéro corrosion des roulements
Roulement

Roulements à billes à graisse bleue

Situation

Une usine de laminage russe rencontrait des problèmes significatifs liés au délavage à l’eau avec une graisse non Mobill™ au niveau des cages à roulements lisses des cylindres de travail. La cokéfaction se produit comme conséquence du manque de graisse et de l’exposition à une température élevée. La formation de dépôts a entraîné la corrosion par l’eau qui a attaqué les roulements peu protégés par la graisse.

Recommandation

Les ingénieurs sur le terrain d’ExxonMobil recommandent la graisse Mobilgrease XHP 461™en raison de son excellente résistance au délavage à l’eau, à la corrosion et à la rouille et sa très bonne stabilité thermique. Un ensemble de roulements a été sélectionné pour un essai de six mois pendant lequel les performances des roulements et de la graisse ont été surveillées.

Résultat

Au cours de l’essai, la graisse résistante à l’eau Mobilgrease XHP 461 a affiché des performances supérieures et après six mois d’utilisation dans des roulements lisses, les avantages suivants ont été identifiés :

  • La graisse a résisté à des quantités significatives d’eau et a démontré des capacités d’adhésion excellentes
  • Protection et lubrification des roulements, empêchant ainsi toute défaillance liée au lubrifiant
  • Fréquence de remplissage moins élevée, ce qui indique une consommation générale de graisse moins importante
  • Pas de corrosion ni de dépôts détectés
  • Pas de cokéfaction due à la graisse constatée

En conséquence, le client a décidé de remplir progressivement le reste des roulements de son usine de graisse Mobilgrease XHP 461.

*Cette histoire de la réussite est basée sur le témoignage d’un seul client. Les résultats réels peuvent varier en fonction du type d’équipement utilisé et de sa maintenance, ses conditions de fonctionnement et son environnement, ainsi que du lubrifiant précédemment utilisé.


186 kb PDF en anglais

2016-02-23

  • Roulements trempés à la graisse bleue

    Gamme Mobilgrease XHP™ 460

    Si vos applications ont lieu dans des conditions de fonctionnement exigeantes telles que des hautes températures et un intervalle de lubrification allongé, les graisses de la gamme Mobilgrease XHP™ 460 peuvent vous aider à atteindre des performances optimales.

    Pour en savoir plus
  • Industrie de la fabrication de métaux faisceaux rouges

    Fabrication de métaux

    Les lubrifiants industriels Mobil™ sont conçus pour augmenter l’efficacité de l’équipement, tout en améliorant également les intervalles de vidange de l’huile et la durée de vie de l’équipement. Nous disposons d’une expertise dans ce domaine et de produits éprouvés afin de vous aider à relever les défis les plus complexes.

    Pour en savoir plus