Pelle pour exploitation minière industrielle

Unlocking mining productivity

02-22-2016

Industry insight

Sachin Maheshwari, Global Strategic Marketing, ExxonMobil Fuels & Lubricants

Today, the mining industry faces a host of challenges, including fluctuating commodity prices and tightening margins.

According to a recent Ernst & Young (EY) report, these factors have driven the mining sector to focus on production volume above all else, which in turn has led to an even bigger industry challenge – maintaining productivity levels.*

As the EY report affirms, productivity in the mining sector has been slowly declining throughout the past decade, due in large part to this focus on production volume. Mining executives are well aware of this challenge, and a global survey of more than 60 mining executives found that productivity is at the forefront of corporate strategic planning initiatives.

What are mining executives doing to address this challenge?

In its report, EY outlined some of the approaches that the mining industry is taking. There is one particular approach worth noting: the need to identify and implement comprehensive, end-to-end business strategies in place of individual solutions designed primarily to cut costs.

According to EY, many within the mining sector believe the industry is nearing the ceiling for cost-reduction benefits, primarily because operations have tried to address productivity through a siloed approach. However, industry leaders are recognizing that to improve productivity, they need to implement strategies that take an operations-wide approach.

We have seen these siloed approaches in action. For example, the wide range of tools and machinery involved in our customers’ operations often leads operators to consider maintenance for a series of individual applications, rather than taking steps to build an overall maintenance program to maximize productivity.

Building a comprehensive, solutions-oriented maintenance plan, which takes into consideration the high-quality lubricant technologies and monitoring services that will best help to deliver operation-wide benefits, while reducing overall cost of maintenance, is one major way that mine operators can advance overall productivity of their operations.

*Ernst & Young, “Productivity in Mining: A case for broad transformation,” Page 2, EYGM Limited, 2014, http://www.ey.com/Publication/vwLUAssets/EY-Productivity-in-mining/$FILE/EY-Productivity-in-mining.pdf

Ernst & Young, “Productivity in Mining: now comes the hard part, a global survey,” Page 2, EYGM Limited, 2014, http://www.ey.com/Publication/vwLUAssets/EY-productivity-in-mining-now-comes-the-hard-part/$FILE/EY-productivity-in-mining-nowcomes-the-hard-part.pdf

  • Yellow haul truck for mining industry

    Mining

    Mining Companies rely on the technology of Mobil™ industrial lubricants to protect their valuable equipment in the harshest operating conditions.

    Learn more
  • Engineers working on turbine

    Technical services

    Explore technical services from our Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis program to plant studies that can help your organization improve performance and productivity.

    Learn more

mining post 1/industrial mining shovel resource

Stimuler la productivité dans le secteur de l’exploitation minière

2016-02-21

Aperçu du secteur

Sachin Maheshwari, Marketing stratégique mondial, ExxonMobil Fuels & Lubricants

Aujourd’hui, le secteur de l’exploitation minière fait face à de nombreux défis, notamment la fluctuation des prix des marchandises et le rétrécissement des marges.

Selon un récent rapport Ernst & Young (EY), ces facteurs ont poussé le secteur de l’exploitation minière à se concentrer sur le volume de production avant tout ce qui, à son tour, a créé un défi bien plus grand pour le secteur : stabiliser les niveaux de productivité.*

Comme l’affirme le rapport EY, la productivité dans le secteur de l’exploitation minière a lentement décliné au cours de la dernière décennie, en grande partie à cause de cette concentration sur le volume de production. Les dirigeants d’exploitations minières ont bien conscience de ce défi et un sondage mondial réalisé auprès de plus de 60 dirigeants d’exploitations minières a révélé que la productivité est au premier plan de leurs initiatives de planification stratégique de l’entreprise.

Que font les dirigeants d’exploitations minières pour surmonter ce défi ?

Dans son rapport, EY a exposé certaines des approches adoptées par le secteur de l’exploitation minière. Une approche en particulier vaut le coup d’être mentionnée : la nécessité d’identifier et de mettre en place des stratégies commerciales complètes et de bout en bout au lieu de solutions individuelles conçues principalement pour réduire les coûts.

Selon EY, nombreux sont ceux dans le secteur de l’exploitation minière qui croient que le secteur se rapproche du plafond pour les bénéfices tirés de la réduction des coûts, principalement parce que les opérations ont essayé de s’occuper de la productivité via une approche cloisonnée. Cependant, les responsables du secteur reconnaissent que pour améliorer la productivité, ils doivent mettre en place des stratégies qui adoptent une approche sur l’ensemble des opérations.

Nous avons vu ces approches cloisonnées en action. Par exemple, le large éventail d’outils et de machines impliqués dans les opérations de nos clients pousse souvent les opérateurs à envisager l'entretien pour une série d’applications individuelles, au lieu de suivre diverses étapes pour élaborer un plan d'entretien global, afin d’optimiser la productivité.

L’un des moyens par lequel les opérateurs de mines peuvent stimuler la productivité globale de leurs opérations est d’élaborer un plan d'entretien complet et orienté sur les solutions, qui prend en considération les technologies de lubrifiant de haute qualité et les services de surveillance qui aideront à mieux tirer des bénéfices sur l’ensemble des opérations, tout en réduisant le coût total de l'entretien.

Additional Notes

*Ernst & Young, « Productivity in Mining: A case for broad transformation, » (La productivité dans le secteur des mines : un cas nécessitant une vaste transformation) Page 2, EYGM Limited, 2014, http://www.ey.com/Publication/vwLUAssets/EY-Productivity-in-mining/$FILE/EY-Productivity-in-mining.pdf

Ernst & Young, “Productivity in Mining: now comes the hard part, a global survey,” Page 2, EYGM Limited, 2014,
http://www.ey.com/Publication/vwLUAssets/EY-productivity-in-mining-now-comes-the-hard-part/$FILE/EY-productivity-in-mining-nowcomes-the-hard-part.pdf



  • engineers working on turbine

    Services techniques

    Explorez les services techniques de notre programme Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis pour les études d’usines, qui peuvent aider votre organisation à améliorer ses performances et sa productivité.

    Pour en savoir plus
  • Camion de roulage pour chantier d’exploitation minière

    Exploitation minière

    Les sociétés d’exploitation minière comptent sur la technologie des lubrifiants industriels Mobil™ pour protéger leur équipement vital dans les conditions de fonctionnement les plus difficiles.

    Pour en savoir plus