Office workers

Implementing an effective lubrication management program

02-21-2016

Industrial lubricant tips

Across industries, maintaining safety and producing high quality products are key objectives to success. In order to realize these objectives, operators must first optimize equipment performance, beginning by implementing a disciplined lubrication management program. 

Here are a few guiding principles to getting the most from your lubrication management program: 

1. Understand how your lubrication program can enhance productivity.

Many people believe that simply maintaining the lube levels in their equipment provides effective lubrication, without considering that a structured lubrication management program can optimize equipment reliability, maximize return on investment and reduce overall maintenance costs.

Caption: This chart illustrates an example of the possible change in one plant’s total costs after implementing an effective lubrication management program.

 

2. Define the key program goals and objectives.

By defining the goals of the lubrication program, operators can ensure they have the proper tools to help get the most out of their lubrication programs.

 

Consider the following goals for your program:

  • Apply the lubricant in the correct manner, at the proper time and in the right amounts
  • Reduce lubricant-related failures
  • Integrate the plant’s preventive and predictive maintenance goals into the lubrication program

 

3. Make sure you have the right tools and people.

Although no single program will work for all applications, there are a few tools that can help you to achieve success:

  • Leadership, teamwork and communication: A successful lubrication program requires a team that communicates with all members of the manufacturing group, led by someone who can assume the responsibility to drive and control the program. Leaders should plan for continual improvement and measure their team's progress frequently.
  • Training and standard operating procedures: For the program to continually improve, both the program leader and lubricators must learn lubrication best practices and new techniques. Standard operating procedures can assist in the training of lubricators and help ensure quality work by enabling program leaders to track and communicate equipment condition.
  • Scheduling, planning and tracking: Even in the smallest of plants, a successful lubrication program is likely to generate a substantial amount of data. Implementing a computerized data management system can help track important equipment trends.
  • Measurement and analysis: Knowing how the program is progressing is critical to understanding its effectiveness. The following metrics can help lubricators track their progress and make program-related decisions:
    • Total maintenance costs and per cent spent on lubrication
    • Per cent of scheduled and unscheduled equipment downtime
    • Number of lubricant-related failures and safety incidents
    • Per cent of maintenance overtime labour
    • Total lubricant consumption

 

Analyzing these metrics will help validate the lubrication program and illuminate areas for improvement. Whether conducted internally or by a third party, benchmarking the lubrication program against other best-in-class operations will yield tremendous dividends.

 
  • Industrial equipment effectiveness

    Advancing Productivity with Overall Equipment Effectiveness

    Learn about Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE), its value, and how plant operators can improve OEE by taking a closer look at their lubrication programs.

    Learn more
  • Engineers working on turbine

    Technical services

    Explore technical services from our Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis program to plant studies that can help your organization improve performance and productivity.

    Learn more

Employés de bureau

Mettre en place un programme efficace de gestion de la lubrification

2016-02-22

Astuces sur les lubrifiants industriels

Dans tous les secteurs, garantir la sécurité et fabriquer des produits de haute qualité sont des objectifs clés pour la réussite. Afin d’atteindre ces objectifs, les opérateurs doivent d’abord optimiser les performances de l’équipement, en commençant par mettre en place un programme discipliné de gestion de la lubrification.

Voici quelques principes directeurs pour tirer le meilleur parti de votre programme de gestion de la lubrification :

1. Assurez-vous de comprendre comment votre programme de lubrification peut optimiser la productivité.

Beaucoup de gens pensent qu’il suffit de maintenir les niveaux de lubrifiant dans leur équipement pour assurer une lubrification efficace. Ils ne prennent pas en considération le fait qu’un programme structuré de gestion de la lubrification peut optimiser la fiabilité de l’équipement, maximiser le retour sur investissement et réduire les coûts totaux de l'entretien.

Légende : Ce tableau illustre un exemple de changement possible dans les coûts totaux d’une usine, après la mise en place d’un programme efficace de gestion de la lubrification. 

2. Définissez les buts et objectifs clés du programme.

En définissant les objectifs du programme de lubrification, les opérateurs peuvent s’assurer qu’ils disposent des bons outils pour tirer le meilleur parti de leurs programmes de lubrification.

Prenez en considération les objectifs suivants pour votre programme :

  • appliquer le lubrifiant de façon appropriée, au bon moment et avec des quantités adéquates ;
  • réduire les défaillances relatives au lubrifiant ;
  • intégrer les objectifs de maintenance préventive et prédictive de l’usine dans le programme de lubrification.

3. Assurez-vous d’avoir les bons outils et les bonnes personnes.

Bien qu’aucun programme unique ne fonctionne pour toutes les applications, il existe quelques outils qui peuvent vous aider à atteindre le succès :

  • Leadership, travail d’équipe et communication : Un programme de lubrification réussi requiert une équipe qui communique avec tous les membres du groupe de fabrication, dirigé par quelqu’un qui peut assumer la responsabilité de diriger et de contrôler le programme. Les responsables doivent établir une planification pour assurer l’amélioration continue et doivent fréquemment mesurer la progression de leur équipe.
  • Formation et procédures opératoires standard : Pour que le programme s’améliore continuellement, le responsable du programme ainsi que les lubrificateurs doivent apprendre les meilleures pratiques et les nouvelles techniques de lubrification. Les procédures opératoires standard peuvent être utiles lors de la formation des lubrificateurs et elles aident à garantir un travail de qualité, en permettant aux responsables du programme de faire le suivi et de communiquer l’état de l’équipement.
  • Programmation, planification et suivi : Même dans les plus petites usines, un programme de lubrification réussi est susceptible de générer un volume substantiel de données. Mettre en place un système informatisé de gestion des données peut aider à faire le suivi des tendances importantes de l’équipement.
  • Mesure et analyse : Connaître la progression du programme est essentiel pour comprendre son efficience. Les mesures suivantes peuvent aider les lubrificateurs à faire le suivi de leur progression et de prendre des décisions en lien avec le programme :
    • coûts de maintenance totaux et pourcentage dépensé sur la lubrification ;
    • pourcentage de temps d’arrêt planifié et non planifié de l’équipement ;
    • nombre de défaillances et d’incidents de sécurité liés au lubrifiant ;
    • pourcentage de main-d’œuvre en heures supplémentaires ;
    • consommation totale de lubrifiant.
Analyser ces mesures aidera à valider le programme de lubrification et à mettre en lumière les domaines nécessitant une amélioration. Que ce soit réalisé en interne ou par un tiers, comparer le programme de lubrification par rapport à d’autres opérations haut de gamme permettra de générer des dividendes colossaux.

 



  • industrial equipment effectiveness

    L’approche Advancing Productivity avec l’efficacité globale de l’équipement

    Apprenez-en plus sur l’efficacité globale de l’équipement (EGE) et sur sa valeur et découvrez comment les opérateurs peuvent améliorer l’EGE en examinant plus minutieusement leurs programmes de lubrification.

    Pour en savoir plus
  • engineers working on turbine

    Services techniques

    Explorez les services techniques de notre programme Mobil Serv℠ Lubricant Analysis pour les études d’usines, qui peuvent aider votre organisation à améliorer ses performances et sa productivité.

    Pour en savoir plus