Light bulbs energy efficiency

Improving Energy Efficiency  

02-22-2016

Industry insight

Jim Hannon, Industrial Lubricants Technical Advisor, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering

In ExxonMobil’s The Outlook for Energy: A View to 2040, we predict a more than 100 per cent increase in global demand for energy, as compared to levels in 2010. In the industrial sector, we can help mitigate the effects of this rising demand by improving the efficiency of our machinery and equipment.

Through extensive research, we’ve found that using a lubricant formulated with base stocks that have low traction coefficients, which help to reduce frictional energy losses within industrial pumps, can decrease temperatures in machinery by up to 13°C.

A lubricant that enhances volumetric and mechanical efficiency will reduce friction within the pump and generate less heat. High temperatures, therefore, signal energy inefficiency. We used thermal imaging to compare lubricants in simple hydraulic circuits to determine their relative efficiency by comparing heat generation..

 lubricant pump temperatures
.
  • Hydraulic oil for pressure pipe machinery

    Mobil DTE 10 Excel™ Series

    Mobil DTE 10 Excel™ Series lubricants can help reduce power consumption and increase machine output.

    Learn more
  • Calculator

    How to calculate savings from conversion to synthetic lubricant

    Learn how to calculate savings realized from your conversion to an advanced lubricant for your equipment.

    Learn more

Efficacité énergétique des ampoules

Améliorer l’efficacité énergétique

2016-02-22

Aperçu du secteur

Jim Hannon, Conseiller technique en lubrifiants industriels, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering

Les perspectives d’ ExxonMobil’s D’ici 2040, nous prédisons une hausse de plus de 100 % de la demande mondiale en énergie, par rapport aux niveaux de 2010. Dans le secteur industriel, nous pouvons aider à atténuer les effets de cette hausse de la demande en améliorant l’efficacité de nos machines et de notre équipement.

Via une recherche approfondie, nous avons découvert qu’utiliser un lubrifiant formulé avec des huiles de base qui ont un faible coefficient de traction aidant à réduire les pertes d’énergie liées au frottement dans les pompes industrielles, peut permettre une baisse de jusqu’à 13°C des températures dans les machines.

Un lubrifiant qui optimise l’efficacité volumétrique et mécanique réduit le frottement dans la pompe et génère moins de chaleur. Par conséquent, des températures élevées signalent une inefficacité énergétique. Nous avons utilisé l’imagerie thermique pour comparer des lubrifiants dans des circuits hydrauliques simples, afin de déterminer leur efficacité relative en comparant la génération de chaleur.

 lubricant pump temperatures
  • Huile hydraulique pour machines à tuyaux sous pression

    Mobil DTE 10 Excel™ Series

    Les huiles hydrauliques de la gamme Mobil DTE 10 Excel™ sont conçues pour répondre aux besoins de lubrification des systèmes hydrauliques de l’équipement industriel et mobile à haute pression.

    Pour en savoir plus
  • Calculatrice

    Comment calculer les économies réalisées en passant à un lubrifiant synthétique ?

    Découvrez comment calculer les économies réalisées en passant à un lubrifiant avancé pour votre équipement.

    Pour en savoir plus